sheet music international

Program Notes Anton Arensky

Anton Arensky (1861-1906) was a Russian composer, pianist, and teacher. He was born in Novgorod, Russia, and studied composition at the Saint Petersburg Conservatory with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. After graduating, he taught at the Moscow Conservatory and became a respected figure in the Russian musical world.

Arensky's music is characterized by its lyricism, elegance, and craftsmanship. He wrote in a variety of genres, including operas, symphonies, chamber music, and songs. His most famous works include the Piano Trio in D Minor, the String Quartet in A Minor, and the opera A Dream on the Volga.

Arensky was a gifted composer who produced a large body of beautiful and well-crafted music. His music is still performed today by ensembles around the world, and he is considered one of the most important composers of the Russian Romantic period.

Here are some of his most famous works:

  • Piano Trio in D Minor
  • String Quartet in A Minor
  • Opera A Dream on the Volga
  • Symphony No. 2 in E Minor
  • Piano Concerto No. 1 in F Minor
  • Violin Sonata in D Major
  • Songs, including "Lilacs" and "The Nightingale"

If you are interested in learning more about Anton Arensky, I recommend the following books:

  • Anton Arensky: A Biography (by David Brown)
  • The Cambridge Companion to Anton Arensky (edited by David Brown)
  • Anton Arensky: The Man and His Music (by Richard Taruskin)
    Arensky-Anton (1861-1906)      
Sheet music international